February 26, 2024

The award season is back with a bang in India, with celebrities being honoured with one of the most esteemed honours in the country: the 69th Filmfare Awards. Held over the weekend, the ceremony saw Bollywood’s biggest and brightest flying to Gujurat to accept the accolades.

The most prominent categories—Best Actor and Actress—were won by celebrity couple Ranbir Kapoor and Alia Bhatt. Kapoor won for his role in Animal, while Bhatt was awarded for her character in Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani.

READ ALSO: Gru and minions are back: ‘Despicable Me 4’ teases family danger and an angry Honey Badger; Watch the trailer

Meanwhile, Sandeep Reddy Vanga’s Animal, one of the controversial movies of the year, took home six trophies. However, Vidhu Vino Chopra’s 12th Fail managed to take the crown for some of the most prestigious categories, including Best Film and Best Director. In the Best Actor Critics category, 12th Fail’s Vikrant Massey won the award. As for the Best Actress title for the same was shared between Rani Mukherji or Mrs Chatterjee Vs Norway and Shefali Shah for Three of Us.

Best Supporting Actor (Critics) was awarded to Vicky Kaushal for Rajkumar Hirani’s Dunki, and the Lifetime Achievement award was bestowed on filmmaker David Dhawan. Faraaz actor Aditya Rawal won the Best Debut (Male) award, whereas Alizeh Agnihotri won the Best Debut (Female) award for Farrey.

The ceremony took place across two days. On Saturday, they handed out the Technical Awards, and on Sunday, they gave the other awards.

Here is a look at the list of all the winners:

  • Best Film (Popular): 12th Fail
  • Best Film (Critics): Joram
  • Best Actor in a Leading role (Male): Ranbir Kapoor (Animal)
  • Best Actor in a Leading role (Female): Alia Bhatt (Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani)
  • Best Actor (Critics): Vikrant Massey (12th Fail)
  • Best Actress (Critics): Rani Mukerji (Mrs Chatterjee Vs Norway) and Shefali Shah (Three Of Us).
  • Best Director: Vidhu Vinod Chopra (12th Fail)
  • Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male): Vicky Kaushal (Dunki)
  • Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female): Shabana Azmi (Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani)
  • Best Music Album: Animal (Pritam, Vishal Mishra, Manan Bhardwaj, Shreyas Puranik, Jaani, Bhupinder Babbal, Ashim Kemson, Harshwardhan Rameshwar, Gurinder Seagal)
  • Best Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya (Tere Vaaste- Zara Hatke Zara Bachke)
  • Best Playback Singer (Male): Bhupinder Babbal (Arjan Vailly- Animal)
  • Best Playback Singer (Female): Shilpa Rao (Besharam Rang- Pathaan)
  • Best Story: Amit Rai (OMG 2)
  • Best Screenplay: Vidhu Vinod Chopra (12th Fail)
  • Best Dialogue: Ishita Moitra (Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani)
  • Best Background Score: Harshavardhan Rameshwar (Animal)
  • Best Cinematography: Avinash Arun Dhaware (Three Of Us)
  • Best Production Design: Subrata Chakraborty and Amit Ray (Sam Bahadur)
  • Best Editing: Jaskunwar Singh Kohli- Vidhu Vinod Chopra (12th Fail)
  • Best Costume Design: Sachin Lovelekar, Divvya Gambhir and Nidhhi Gambhir (Sam Bahadur)
  • Best Sound Design: Kunal Sharma (Mpse) (Sam Bahadur) and Sync Cinema (Animal)
  • Best Choreography: Ganesh Acharya (What Jhumka?- Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani)
  • Best Action: Spiro Razatos, Anl Arasu, Craig Macrae, Yannick Ben, Kecha Khamphakdee, Sunil Rodrigues (Jawan)
  • Best Vfx: Red Chillies Vfx (Jawan)
  • Best Debut Director: Tarun Dudeja (Dhak Dhak)
  • Best Debut Male: Aditya Rawal (Faraaz)
  • Best Debut Female: Alizeh Agnihotri (Farrey)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: David Dhawan
  • R.D.Burman Award for Upcoming Music Talent: Shreya Puranik (Satranga-Animal)

READ ALSO: NASA is preparing for the highly anticipated comeback of mankind to the Moon after 50 years